An Original Recipe by Moi!!!

So, this recipe went through a bunch of revisions based on circumstance before I actually made it.  When making the grocery list, I asked hubby what he was craving.  He said Chicken Cordon Bleu, so I figured I could do a quick, one pot version with some easy sides.  Threw everything I thought I would need on the list and sent hubby off to the store.

Yesterday morning, because we were supposed to have it for dinner last night, I threw four chicken breasts in to marinate with some honey and horseradish mustard.  I though the horseradish mustard would add a little bit of a tang.  Well, we ended up running errands and did not make it back in time for me to cook, so they got to marinate overnight.  They sat in that mustard/honey mixture for about 24 hours.  Then, this morning, when I decided I would make lunch before hubby left for work, we realized that he forgot the ham.  So, there went our Chicken Cordon Bleu.  I figured I still had this chicken, though, and I could do something with it.  I decided I had a craving for cheesy hashbrown casserole, and I threw that in early.  Then, I made the chicken and made a gravy out of the sauce left in the pan.  Omg.  It was amazing.   I am so immensely proud of myself. 

So, here is the recipe:

Horseradish Honey Mustard Chicken With Swiss

Ingredients:

1 lb. of frozen skinless, boneless chicken breast (I used 4)

Enough pieces of swiss cheese to cover each piece of chicken

Marinade:

3 tbsp. of horseradish mustard

1 tbsp. of honey

During cooking:

2 tbsp. horseradish mustard

1/2 tbsp. honey

1 cup chicken broth

2 tbsp. of flour

Directions:

  • Soak the frozen chicken breasts in the combination of mustard and honey until defrosted.  The longer, the better.
  • Heat a big pan hot enough to sear the chicken breasts. 
  • Sear each side of the chicken breasts for about 1 minute on each side.  
  • Dump the leftover marinade into the pot, letting simmer covered for 3 minutes.
  • Flip chicken
  • Add the rest of the mustard, honey, and chicken broth into pan.
  • Bring to boil.
  • Cover and reduce to simmer for 15 minutes, flipping chicken occasionally.
  • Put a piece of swiss cheese on each piece of chicken and cover again for 3 minutes, or until the swiss cheese is melted. 
  • Check for done-ness of chicken.  If done, remove from pan.
  • Whisk in the flour.
  • Bring to boil.
  • Cover and reduce to simmer for 5 minutes.

Serve sauce along side chicken.

 

Image 

 

The sauce is amazing to dip the chicken in.  Next time I will be serving this with brown rice and some sort of vegetable or salad.  Something that meshes with the distinct flavor a little more than cheesy hashbrowns.  The leftover sauce is amazing and hubby will be using it on sandwiches this week, and possibly with other chicken for his work dinners.  

Well, I am off to go read and relax a bit because this next week is going to be bat guana crazy.  Besides, I am a book behind on my challenge!  Bleh. 

Feedback wanted!  I am no expert on writing recipes and I made this dish by adding things “by taste”.  My measurements are approximate and would love your thoughts on how the recipe is written and the end product if you decide to make it!  I always love constructive criticism or outright compliments 😉 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

