Depression and Motivation

I am in the middle of a depressive episode.

My apartment is so messy, I have piles of laundry to do, I just started a new class, and I’m sure that if my brain could focus, my to-do list would be a million miles long.

I can’t focus, though.

I can’t finish a book, which is really strange for me.

The only things that sound even vaguely nice are sleeping and crying.

Everything else seems too hard. In the back of my mind, I know that tidying the living room is not a big deal.  I just wish I could get myself to feel that way.  I don’t know how to push through this other than laying down and waiting for it to pass.  I have therapy tomorrow, but that doesn’t help me today.

I’m ingesting tons of caffeine and it doesn’t seem to help at all.  I don’t want this to turn into something worse than a depressive episode.

I’m going to take a shower, maybe wash these cobwebs off my brain.

Being dressed and clean should help, right?  Right.

Anybody have any advice?  I could really use it.

Leave a Reply

