Angel Food French Toast

I saw a picture on Pinterest of angel food French toast.  It looked fabulous.  Unfortunately, it did not link to a recipe.

So, I made one up.

WP_20150207_08_53_24_Pro__highres

It was fabulous.

So, I am going to share my recipe!

Angel Food Cake with Strawberries

Ingredients:

half of an angel food cake

half a pint of strawberries

6 eggs

2 tsp. of vanilla

1 tbsp. of sugar or sweetener

Directions:

Cut strawberries into slices.

Sprinkle with sugar and stir.

Put aside in refrigerator until it is time to be served.

Beat together eggs with vanilla.

Slice cake into as many slices as desired.

Coat each side of each piece in egg. (The egg does not need to soak into the cake like it does with normal French toast)

Cook each side for 1-2 minutes until golden brown in a pan sprayed with nonstick spray.

Serve topped with strawberries.

It was healthy and filling.  I made hash browns to go with.  My hubby also insists that I include that he gives this recipe an  8/10 and that he ate his with peanut butter.  Variations can be as much fun as normal French toast and you can be just as creative!!

Let me know how you like it or if you plan on trying it!  I am always open to constructive criticism and if you can make it better, tell me how you did it!

Leave a Reply

