Depression and Brain Damage

I just read an article here about the effect of depression on a brain.  Apparently, long-term depression can shrink the hippocampus part of the brain.  The article describes the effects of the smaller hippocampus on a person’s behavior.  The researchers liken the shrunken hippocampus to brain damage.

It really shows how difficult it can be to work out of depression.  Studies haven’t even shown if it can be reversible.

I just sometimes find it validating that studies are showing more and more evidence that mental illness is to be taken seriously.

The mornings that I can’t get out of bed, or the times when I can’t go out because of my anxiety, or the times I cry for hours at a time…there is a real reason, my brain has something off.

Leave a Reply

